PrintWeek Awards 2015 winners unveiled at glittering ceremony

Buxton Press was crowned 2015 Company of the Year at last night’s PrintWeek Awards, where the cream of the sector celebrated everything that’s great about the UK print industry.

More than 850 of print’s leading lights attended the Awards’ circus-themed gala dinner last night, where the industry’s most coveted trophies were handed out by host Gyles Brandreth, who received a standing ovation at the end of the Awards set.

According to the judging panel, 134-staff Buxton regained the trophy it won in 2011 thanks to sustained growth in both sales and profits that made it a “fantastic business at every level”. It also won the award in 2009.

“We’re absolutely ecstatic, we’re just a small business where everyone has won it. This is the third time [in 12 years] we’ve won Company of the Year which I think is a record. We're doing something right in our business strategy during difficult times,” said Buxton managing director Kirk Galloway.

"Our focus, in order to be competitive in a very competitive industry, has been to have the very best machinery we can. Our strategy has always been to invest in technology but only if the company can afford it. Debt is something that needs to be watched very closely with any business.

"We’ve been going since the 1930s and I think it’s because we have common sense ideas. I know every employee. I think if you lose touch with your business you will lose your business. We’re in it for the long term which is why we’ve done so well so often."

The other flagship award, SME of the Year, was secured by First 4 Print Finishing. Against what the judges described as the “toughest year in terms of the number of exceptional entries” the Blackburn-based trade finisher secured victory thanks to an impressive performance centered on “getting the basics right”.

“There was some seriously tough competition in the room, so we wondered did we bring enough. We’re absolutely delighted to have won. Really, really pleased,” said First 4 managing director David Nestor.

“It was a great night and was wonderful for all us here that picked up the award, but the reason we won this award wasn’t because of the 12 people here tonight, it was the 100 people back at base, because they make our lives easy and are the reason we’re a successful business.”

The biggest cheer of the night was reserved for Trainee of the Year, De La Rue’s Jonathan Taylor, who also brought guests to their feet.

“I'm surprised to win as I've never had an award before. I've spent the last year working hard and planning for the future and it means the world to be recognised for my hard work,” said Taylor.

There were cheers aplenty for the five double winners on the night too.

Boss Print, which secured the Brochure and Luxury Packaging Print of the Year trophies; DST, which won Environmental Company and Marketing Campaign of the Year; Geoff Neal Group Direct Mail Printer and Customer Service Team of the Year; Park Communications which was named Report & Accounts and Magazine Printer of the Year; and Screaming Colour, which took the prizes for Bespoke Digital Printer and Post-Press Company of the Year.

“It’s great that the industry gets together and celebrates what’s good and great in the industry, it means a lot to win one award let alone two and I know when we get back to the team to share the news then they will all be incredibly pleased, especially the customer service team as they’ve worked so hard for this,” said Geoff Neal Group managing director Sam Neal.

Scroll down for the full run-down of the 24 Awards winners. The complete list of winners and high commendations will be published on the website later today.

PrintWeek Awards 2015 Winners

Catalogue Printer of the Year
Sponsored by Goss
Wyndeham Roche

Report & Accounts Printer of the Year
Park Communications

Social Stationery Printer of the Year
Woodmansterne Publications

Direct Mail Printer of the Year
Sponsored by Kodak
Geoff Neal Group

Brochure Printer of the Year
Sponsored by Premier Paper Group
Boss Print

FMCG Packaging Printer of the Year
The Sherwood Group

Bespoke Digital Printer of the Year
Sponsored by GF Smith
Screaming Colour

Book Printer of the Year
Sponsored by Ricoh
Pureprint Group

Industrial Digital Printer of the Year
Sponsored by Konica Minolta
Gask & Hawley

Magazine Printer of the Year
Sponsored by Denmaur
Park Communications

Label Printer of the Year
Presented by
Label Apeel

Luxury Packaging Printer of the Year
Sponsored by EFI
Boss Print

Newspaper Printer of the Year
Trinity Mirror Printing (Watford)

Out-of-home Printer of the Year

Fine Art Printer of the Year
Push Print

Point-of-purchase Printer of the Year
Sponsored by Tharstern
Augustus Martin

Marketing Campaign of the Year
Sponsored by the BPIF

Post-press Company of the Year
Sponsored by Intelligent Finishing Systems 
Screaming Colour

Cross-media Company of the Year
Cyan Group

Environmental Company of the Year
Sponsored by Agfa

Customer Service Team of the Year
Sponsored by Duplo
Geoff Neal Group

Trainee of the Year
Sponsored by Heidelberg
Jonathan Taylor, De La Rue International

SME of the Year
Sponsored by Close Brothers Asset Finance
First 4 Print Finishing

Company of the Year
Presented by PrintWeek
Buxton Press