Young Stationers' reveals 2018 shortlist

By Rhys Handley, Tuesday 10 July 2018

Be the first to comment

The Stationers’ Company has announced its 2018 shortlist for the Young Stationers’ Prize, with a clutch of print and publishing industry up-and-comers among the nominees.


Graham (right): "All winners will get the benefit of the Stationers' Company's 600-year legacy"

The awards cover the fields of journalism, books and archiving, and publishing, and print-related nominees include Prima Software digital marketing manager Callum Edwards, Denmaur Independent Papers customer service manager Joshua Kilby, Class Publishing editorial manager Emma Milman, and Two Sides marketing manager Greg Selfe.

The winner will be announced at a gala at Stationers’ Hall in London on 16 July, at which, new for this year, five trade-specific awards will be given to runners-up who have distinguished themselves in their particular field.

The five new award categories are Books and Archiving; Journalism and Communications; Office Products and Supplies; Print, Paper and Packaging; and Publishing, Digital and Design.

Young Stationers' chair and Deloitte UK marketing strategist Dominic Graham said: “Having the five extra awards gives us more scope as the prize has always meant we have to choose only one winner from an impressive bunch of nominees.

“The top winner will gain bragging rights from having their name etched on the trophy, but all winners will get the benefit of the networking and mentoring opportunities the Stationers’ Company can offer as well as its 600-year legacy at the heart of London.

“How much these young people on the shortlist have achieved in their careers so far is really incredible, I have even been intimidated by some of their achievements. I am very confident for our industries and proud to be judging this prize-giving.”

Graham, who has chaired Young Stationers' for three years, will step down after this year to be succeeded by 2016 prize winner Ella Kahn, who won alongside Bryony Woods – her co-founder in the Diamond Kahn & Woods Literary Agency.

The judging panel chaired by Graham is made up of the Stationers’ Company, previous prize winners and representatives for the five distinct industries served by the livery company.

Winners will be selected based on judges’ assessment of four criteria – individual career progression, impact within their trade, presentation of submission, and contribution to the wider community of the Stationers’ Company and its trades.

Last year’s winner, Prima Software managing director Ian Buckley, will hand over the prize to this year’s successful candidate at the Stationers’ Hall gala next Monday evening

Latest comments