The Printing Charity appoints interim CEO and launches 2016 Print Futures Awards

By Richard Stuart-Turner, Friday 26 February 2016

Be the first to comment

The Printing Charity has appointed Neil Lovell as its new interim chief executive and secretary.


Lovell: "I’ll be focusing on moving the charity further forward"

Lovell, who started in the role on 15 February, has replaced Stephen Gilbert, who retired last month after 12 years in the role.

He has 27 years’ experience in the commercial and not-for-profit sectors in senior communications, marketing, fundraising, and management roles.

Lovell began his career in a traditional advertising agency off Fleet Street, moving to other commercial roles that have included leading the corporate communications at T-Mobile through the firm’s rebranding from One-2-One.

As director of corporate communications at RAC Lovell was responsible for its group-wide communications strategy, including its communications during the takeover by Aviva.

He joined the not-for-profit sector in 2009 as director of fundraising and external relations at Kids Company and was chief executive of the Jamie Oliver Food Foundation from 2012 to 2015.

He is also a trustee of the Further Education Trust for Leadership, an independent further education and skills sector think tank and grant-awarding charity.

Lovell said: "The Printing Charity has such an incredible history and a great future due to the work done by Stephen Gilbert, staff, and trustees.

"I’ll be focusing on moving the charity further forward. My main priority is to get to know the team, meet the many contacts we have across the industry, and of course see the work we do at first hand, from visiting our retirement homes to meeting our partners and those people we help."

Lovell joined as the Print Futures Awards, which The Printing Charity co-sponsors, launched its 2016 call for entries.

The annual awards programme, which is open to UK residents aged 16 to 30, offers cash grants of up to £1,500 to anyone studying for, or who intends to study for, a career in printing, publishing or graphic arts.

They are also open to young people already working in those sectors in the UK who would like to undertake courses or training sessions to develop their workplace skills as well as apprentices or those studying for NVQs in print-related organisations who need help with travel and living expenses while studying.

Print Futures Awards secretary Mark Johnson said: “There has been a 54% increase in the number of winners in the past four years. Last year was a record year with 37 winners and this year we intend giving 50 awards.

“With a turnover of £13.5bn, the UK printing industry is a major economic contributor and employer, but the industry is facing an exodus of staff in the coming years due to retirement.

“It’s vital the industry attracts more young people trained for a career in print, but funding training can be difficult and that’s why the Print Futures Awards are important.”

The BPIF, St Bride Foundation, The John Crosfield Foundation and Unite the Union GPM & IT Sector have continued to sponsor the awards alongside The Printing Charity while additional new sponsors this year are Saxoprint and The Book Trade Charity.

Application forms can be downloaded at and entries should be emailed to by Friday 27 May. Shortlisted applicants will be interviewed in June and the awards will be presented on 19 July.

Share this

Related headlines

Printing Charity chief executive retires
02 February 2016

The Printing Charity’s chief executive Stephen Gilbert has retired after 12 years in the role.

HRH The Duke of York speaks as guest of honour at Printing Charity event
06 November 2015

Prince Andrew spoke on the importance of encouraging young people into print and the value of apprenticeships...

Printing Charity calls on industry for help at Print Futures Awards
24 July 2015

The Printing Charity (TPC) has announced the winners of this year’s Print Futures Awards and called on...

The Printing Charity re-elects chairman and deputy
18 June 2015

Jon Wright and Steve Sibbald have been unanimously elected chairman and deputy chairman respectively...

This Issue

Latest comments